> Home Page > About ERS > Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees (Board) is charged with the fiduciary responsibility for administering the retirement and survivor benefits for the members of the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission Employees' Retirement System (ERS) and ensuring that sufficient assets are available to fund the benefits when due.

The Board administers the ERS in accordance with the Trust Agreement between the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission (Commission) and the Board. The Board sets the policy, and hires an Administrator and Staff to manage the day-to-day operations of the ERS.

The Board consists of 11 appointed and elected members as adopted by the Commission on July 24, 2001.

  • Two Commissioners (one each from Montgomery and Prince George’s counties)
  • The Commission’s Executive Director, Ex-Officio
  • The Commission’s Secretary-Treasurer, Ex-Officio
  • Three Open Trustees (one each from Montgomery and Prince George’s counties and one from the Bi-County office, effective July 2003)
  • Two Public Members (one each from Montgomery and Prince George’s counties)
  • Two Represented Trustees (one Municipal County Government Employees' Organization (MCGEO) Representative and one Fraternal Order of Police (FOP) Representative)

Trustees serve for three-year terms. Trustees elect a chairman and vice chairman to serve for a two-year term. The Commission appoints Commissioners and Public Members. Terms for the Executive Director and Secretary-Treasurer are concurrent with their tenure in office. Trustees for Prince George's, Montgomery, and Bi-County are selected by an election process from those eligible for selection as a trustee. The election is conducted by the ERS. The Represented Trustee for the Municipal and County Government Employees' Organization (MCGEO) is selected by the Chief Executive Officer of MCGEO. The Represented Trustee for the Fraternal Order of Police (FOP) is selected pursuant to an internal election process established by the FOP. Represented trustees continue in office until replaced by their successors.

Generally, the Board meets on the first Tuesday of every month, except for August. Board meetings are open to all employees and members of the public. Members of the Board may be contacted in writing through the ERS.

The Board of Trustees adopted an Ethics Policy dated December 4, 2007 which is amended from time to time to ensure the proper administration of the ERS and to foster unquestioned public confidence in the ERS' integrity as a prudently managed pension plan and fiduciary to its members.

The Board of Trustees

as of July 2017 is as follows:

Chairman Hewlett

Elizabeth M. Hewlett
Chairman, Prince George's County Commissioner

Gerald R. Cichy

Gerald R. Cichy
Vice Chairman, Montgomery County Commissioner

Khalid Afzal

Khalid Afzal
Montgomery County Open Trustee

Patricia Colihan Barney

Patricia Colihan Barney, CPA
Executive Director

Sheila Morgan-Johnson

Sheila Morgan-Johnson
Prince George’s County Public Member

Alicia Hart

Alicia Hart
Prince George’s County Open Trustee

Howard Brown

Howard Brown
Fraternal Order of Police Representative

Pamela F. Gogol

Pamela F. Gogol
Montgomery County Public Member

Photo Not Available

Amy Millar
MCGEO Representative

Barbara Walsh

Barbara Walsh
Bi-County Open Trustee

Joe Zimmerman

Joseph C.Zimmerman, CPA